My Fist Is A Book Of Ethics Now Available At Dog Eared Books And Other Adventures

Detail, Zio Ziegler, 24th & Bartlett, SF

 

Dearest Reader, I’m extremely pleased to be able to announce that you can now purchase a copy of my first collection of poetry, My Fist Is A Book Of Ethics, IRL at Dog Eared Books in San Francisco, California.

Yesterday (two thirds of) my ladies and I took a day trip to The Mission for a bookstore day, with the intent of visiting Needles and Pens, Dog Eared Books, and Modern Times. We discovered that Needles and Pens is temporarily moved to a location on Valencia, where we visited after stopping by Dog Eared (for the first time! We decided to cut the trip short and hit the 24th Street BART home before making it to what would’ve also been our first time to Modern Times, but that’s okay- we’ll visit someday soon.)

Dog Eared is a truly wonderful bookstore; we had a great time perusing their poetry and local literature sections, and I spent a good deal of time flipping through their excellent children’s literature section, where I picked up a copy of Crockett Johnson’s Harold’s Circus for my son, Byrd Baylor (who lives in the desert)’s I’m in Charge of Celebrations for my youngest daughter, and a collection of Poetry for Young People by Carl Sandburg, which I didn’t know existed but which I am very excited about- both the verse and the beautiful painting/ illustrations by Steven Arcella – for my eldest daughter. Also I need to say that all the folks who were working there were very helpful and pleasant to chat with. For the record/ your information.

Heading south on Valencia, we happened upon Amos Goldbaum, a San Francisco artist who also designs and creates T-shirts of all kinds with wonderful line-drawings of San Francisco cityscapes, which I realized, as I stood there looking them over, I really liked. This is in part because they remind me of the small but growing to-my-knowledge number of children’s books that are a) set in or about San Francisco, and b) do not suck: the first being Miloslav Sasek’s This is San Francisco (I haven’t googled it yet but if there isn’t a known connection it should definitely be mentioned that Genndy Tartakovsky’s famed Samurai Jack and Clone Wars series display an intense similarity to Sasek’s illustrations), and the second being Don Freeman’s Fly High, Fly Low (that I had just read at Dog Eared)- both of which contain really the best illustrative representations of The City that I’ve seen.  Not that I’ve seen a ton? Maybe I have.

At Needles and Pens’ current location, we browsed both the jewelry and maga/ ‘zine sections, where I came away with a hilarious little ‘zine called Museein’ (a museum zine) by Emily Alden Foster. In it, she chronicles some of the high points of her visits to a plethora of museums in Washington D.C. in the summer of 2011. I’ve provided my favorite example(s) below (Without permission! Ms. Foster if you see this and disprove please let me know and I’ll take them down!)

Kitchen
“Julia Child donated her kitchen to the Smithsonian. They sawed it right out of her house and here it is. It’s surprisingly small.”

 

Mousies
“On the wall, right between Julia’s lorgnette and a heart-shaped pan, there’s a B. Kliban plaque. B. Kliban’s work deserves to be in the Smithsonian on its own merits, but it’s not. Wherever it is, I would like to visit it someday.”

 

Finally, having turned east on 24th, we found ourselves passing the Campfire Gallery, and were pleased to see a mural by SF artist Zio Ziegler splayed across the west side of the building. I had only just found Ziegler’s work and subsequently followed him on Instagram the night before, so it was an interesting experience to immediately recognize and identify the work writ large and IRL. I’ve provided an Instagram of my own above, a small detail of the much larger work.

All in all a pleasant constitutional, if I may say so myself and/ or if you will. Or if you don’t (or won’t), I guess.  Afterwards I took a nap that I’m not sorry about. Keep checking in for more updates re IRL locales for the purchasing of my poetry, in SF, the East Bay, and beyond.

 

 

Leave a Reply

