My Fist Is A Book Of Ethics Now Available @ E.M. Wolfman General Interest Small Bookstore in Downtown Oakland and Other News

Last night I had the honor of reading from MY FIST IS A BOOK OF ETHICS (and one other poem, the title-poem of the forthcoming COLORS, MORE COLORS) at the Holloway Reading Series, as the graduate student opener for Claudia Rankine, author of Citizen: An American Lyric and Don’t Let Me Be Lonely: (also) An American Lyric, among other titles. I had a truly wonderful time reading to a packed house in the Maude Fife room and, subsequently, getting a front-row seat to hear Claudia read from her work. Afterwards, my partner and I joined Claudia, the poet-curators of The Holloway Geoffrey G. O’Brien and Jane Gregory, and company for dinner in downtown Berkeley, where Bob Hass, on hearing that my academic focus was actually children’s literature, told me that he’d introduce me to Maurice Sendak. But I think that was the wine talking. Or listening.

photo (3)
My water bottle was so very far away.

 

In other (dreadfully belated) news, you can now purchase MY FIST IS A BOOK OF ETHICS at the E.M. Wolfman General Interest Small Bookstore, which I had the pleasure of visiting for the first time a week and a day ago, in downtown Oakland. I thoroughly enjoyed perusing the space, populated as it is by multiple interesting-edition versions of a wide range of zines, non-fiction and fiction works, as well as a gallery space, the present work, by San Francisco multi-media artist Zoe Leonard, being accompanied by a zine published by Wolfman, and that carries the same name as the show WE ARE NOT ASKING FOR ANYTHING, which I purchased. The zine, not the show.

 

More both soon and later! If you attended last night’s Holloway: thank you very much. If you purchased a copy of MY FIST IS A BOOK OF ETHICS afterwards: thank you very mucher.

 

Leave a Reply

