On Desire

I am a point on a circuit of desire*. Am I my most important point? I am a point along one thousand circuits of desire. I am one thousand points across an ocean of desire. Am I coextensive with desire? “I” move, “it” moves, there is neither subject nor object. My lover reads a book and it is communicated to me.

biff
Biff Bolen, “Starfish,” 2014

* Last semester one of my mentors formulated Lacan’s concept of desire (/narcissism) as such: ‘Desire is the desire for the desire of desire.’ Later, during a particularly ugly exchange on twitter, I was accused of having a “fragile ego.” I was forced to ask myself if this was true, realized that it was not, and came face to face with an idea that was new to me: that this is okay.

Leave a Reply

